Historic Preservation Commission

The City of Edwardsville Historic Preservation Commission was established in 1977 as a continuation of the city's long tradition of taking proactive steps to preserve the historic character of Edwardsville. The Commission is comprised of up to eleven City of Edwardsville residents who are appointed by the Mayor, with the approval of the City Council. The Commissioners serve for a maximum of three two-year terms on a staggered basis.  The Commission is governed by the Historic Preservation Ordinance.

The Commission is responsible for carrying on tradition in Edwardsville by preserving historic buildings, gardens, and streetscapes as well as the overall historic character of the community. The Commission reviews projects that are inside the boundaries of the city's Historic Districts and projects that affect individual Landmark properties located throughout the City. The Commission reviews proposals for complete and partial demolitions, for new construction and requests for building variances. The Commission is also responsible for reviewing and evaluating the design and compatibility of additions and alterations. Utilize the links below to learn more about the Historic Preservation Commission or download an application.

To determine if your upcoming project requires review by the Historic Preservation Commission, please contact City staff at 618-692-7533.

The Historic Preservation Commission meets regularly on the second Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers on the first floor of City Hall, 118 Hillsboro Ave.  Meeting dates are subject to change from the approved schedule. Please check the Public Meeting Schedule for up to date information on the upcoming meetings.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Tom May, Chair
  • Jennifer Wilkins
  • Ryan Downey
  • Joe Hutton
  • Reggie Resper

Staff:  Walter Williams, Eric Williams, David Sirko

  • Bob Nickrent
  • Brandon Adair
  • John Hackett
  • Kerry Smith

2018 Historic Preservation Commission Meeting Schedule
118 Hillsboro Ave., Edwardsville, IL  62025
(Submittal Deadline noted in parenthesis at 3:30pm.)

January 10
(Submittal Deadline: January 5)

February 14
(Submittal Deadline: February 9)

March 14
(Submittal Deadline: March 9)

April 11
(Submittal Deadline: April 6)

May 9
(Submittal Deadline: May 4)

June 13
(Submittal Deadline: June 8)

(Submittal Deadline: July 6)

August 8
(Submittal Deadline: August 3)

September 12
(Submittal Deadline: September 7)

October 10
(Submittal Deadline: October 5)

 November 14
(Submittal Deadline: November 9

December 12
(Submittal Deadline: December 7)