Cool Cities Initiative Advisory Committee

CoolCitiesIn January 2009, Mayor Niebur signed the Mayor’s Climate Protection Agreement, and he appointed members to the Cool Cities Initiative Advisory Committee with approval of the City Council.

In 2021, the City Council approved a Sustainability Plan that offers projects, goals and policies to enhance the quality of life for current and future generations of Edwardsville residents. That plan can be found here, and the resolution authorizing the Sustainability Plan can be found here.

The committee provides advice to the City and to Edwardsville residents on ways to decrease carbon emissions, through such means as energy-efficient building practices and existing building upgrades, recycling, use of low-emission transportation options, native planting landscaping, and renewable sources of energy. The committee meets on the third Thursday of every month.

More Information

Air quality:

Residential energy efficiency:

Carbon footprint:

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View most recent agendas and minutes

Committee Members:

  • Dr. Rachel Tompkins, Co-Chair
  • Tom Kinsella
  • Cara Lytle
  • Stephanie Malench, Vice Chair
  • Kristen Pauli
  • Sherril Wible
  • Michael Katich

Ex-officio Member:

Department of Public Works: Claire Iott
Phone: 618-692-7535